Food Safety and Food Handlers State Requirements
Food Safety Course Catalog
-
                                     
State Requirements

ALABAMA AL
  • Certification - Every 5 (five) years.Voluntary for Managers and handlers. Contact your individual county for more information.

ALASKA AK
  • Certification -- Every 3 (three) years
  • Voluntary w/ local requirements. To qualify for Alaskas Food Establishment Recognition Program, restaurants must have
  • One certified manager present during each shift. service facilities with a “documented inability to maintain safe and sanitary handling practices” must have a certified mgr present during each shift.

ARKANSAS AR
  • Voluntary for Managers and handlers

ARIZONA
  • Voluntary courses with local requirements.
  • Arizona adopted the 1999 Model Food Code, which requires that a person in charge at a restaurant must be able to demonstrate knowledge of foodborne- illness protection.
  • Taking and passing an accredited safety manager certif course is one way to meet this requirement

CALIFORNIA CA
  • Certification -- Every 3 (three)  years. Each food facility shall have an owner or an employee who has successfully passed an approved  accredited food safety examination. (CA Health & Safety Code Sec. 113700-113733)
  • The certified owner/employee need not be present at the food facility during all hours of operation.” Individual county regulations may be different.
  • Please contact your county for more information.
  • You must obtain a food handler card within 30 days of hire.
  • The law states that food handlers   hired on or after June 1, 2011 have to obtain a food handler  card within 30 days after the date of hire.
  • Our prep course will prepare you to take a test to receive the food handler course card once you pass the test.

COLORADO
  • Certif -- Every 5 years. Voluntary
  • Check with your local health department for more information.
  • The state regulations state that restaurant employees must be able to demonstrate knowledge of foodborne disease prevention upon the request of a health inspector.

CONNECTICUT CT
  • Certificate  -- Each Class III or IV establishment (or places cooking or handling potentially hazardous foods) must appoint a qualified operator who is in a supervisory position.
  • Certification is permanent

FLORIDA FL
No present requirements this industry

GEORGIA GA
Certif -- Every 5 (five) years. Voluntary statewide.

HAWAII HI
  • Voluntary state- wide.Certification Renewal --
  • Certification is permanent; however, the Health Department strongly recommends re-certification every 3 to 5 yrs.

BACK TO TOP

IDAHO ID
  • Certif  -- Every 5 (five)  years.
  • Some district health departments require renewal every 3 years.
  • Each establishment shall have at least 1 employee in a supervisory position who is trained in safety & sanitation

ILLINOIS IL
  • The certificate is valid for 5 five years unless revoked under Section 750.560 of the IDPH Food Service Sanitation Code. Complete an approved 15 hr Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification (FSSMC) Training;
  • successful completion of an IDPH approved  Sanitation Manager Certification exam with a final score of 75% or higher; and payment to IDPH of a $35 certificate fee.

INDIANA IN 
  • Certification -- Every 5 years
  • Voluntary -- check your local jurisdiction for additional requirements.
  • The Indiana food code requires each retail establishment to provide foodborne illness prevention training to at least one employee who has a primary oversight responsibility for safety at the establishment. (410 IAC 7-20)

IOWA IA
  • Certification - No specific renewal
  • Voluntary at the state level.

KANSAS KS
  • Certification - Every 3 (three) years
  • See your local jurisdiction for more details.
  • A knowledgeable person in charge must be on the premises at all times when the establishment is operating. (1999 Food Code).
  • The person in charge may demonstrate knowledge by passing a test that is part of an accredited or approved program.

KENTUCKY KT
  • Voluntary w/ local requirements. See your local jurisdiction for details.

MARYLAND MD
Certificate - Every 3 (three) years
Voluntary. Local jurisdictions may have more requirements.

MASSACHUSETTS MA
  • Mandatory manager certification.
  • Effective October, 2001, every service establishment must have at least 1 full-time employee who is at least 18 yrs of age and who has passed a safety exam which is recognized by the Deptartment of Public Health. ('99 FDA Food Code with modifications).
  • Local jurisdictions have the authority to exceed the state's minimum requirements. (105 CMR 590.000)

MICHIGAN MI
  • Certific -- Every 3 (three) years for state certification. Recertification by passing an exam or by taking an approved  training course.
  • Voluntary on a state level. A knowledgeable person in charge must be on the premises during all operating hrs.
  • The person in charge may demonstrate knowledge by passing a test that is part of an accredited program ('99 Food Code).
  • The MI Deptartment of Agriculture may require individuals to completetraining when there are repeated failures to correct a critical violation. Local jurisdictions may adopt  programs if they do not conflict with Michigan state law, but they must accept the State Certificate

MINNESOTA MN
  • Must attend a mgr course.
  • The Online National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) Food Safety Management Principles Certification Training course satisfies this manager certificate requirement.
  • Minnesota Dept of Health does NOT offer courses. Obtain proof of having attended a mgr course.  Upon completion of the Online NEHA course, there is a printable certificate that is proof of attendance.
  • Testing -- Take one of the State recognized manager exams...
  • The Food Protection Certif Examination of National Registry
  • The Certified Professional Food Managers Examination of Thomson Prometric
  • The ServeSafe Examination of the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation
  • The exam must have been taken within the last 3 years before applying for a  Certificate -- Obtain proof of having successfully completed the exam.

BACK TO TOP

MISSISSIPPI MS
  • Certification -- Every 5 yrs
  • A full-time certified manager must be employed by each food service establishment.

MISSOURI
  • Certificate -- Every 5 yrs
  • Voluntary at the state level.
  • Local health departments may mandate certification.
  • The Missouri  Code requires that a person in charge be present during all hours of operation.
  • The person in charge at a restaurant must be able to demonstrate knowledge of safety issues. Passing a  manager certification examination is one way to meet the demonstration of knowledge requirement. ('99 FDA Food Code, Missouri 20 CSR 1.025)

MONTANA MT
  • Certification  -- Every 3 (three) years
  • Voluntary at the state level.

NEBRASKA NE
  • Certificate   -- Every 3 (three) years
  • Voluntary at the state level.
  • Local health departments may mandate certification. The Nebraska Code requires that a person in charge be present during all hours of operation.
  • Passing a  manager certif exam is one way to meet the demonstration of knowledge requirement.
  • The person in charge at a restaurant must be able to demonstrate knowledge of foodborne illness protection.

NEVADA NV
  • Certification  -- Every 3 (three) years
  • Voluntary at state level with local requirements. The Nevada  Code requires that at a person in charge be present during all hours of operation. The person in charge must be able to demonstrate knowledge of protection and sanitation.

NEW HAMPSHIRE NH
  • Certificate  -- Every 5 years
  • Mandatory. One manager must be certified

BACK TO TOP

NEW JERSEY NJ
  • There are no present requirements for this industry.

NEW YORK NY
  • Voluntary at the state level. Local jurisdictions may mandate certification.

NORTH CAROLINA NC
  • There are no present requirements for this industry.

NORTH DAKOTA ND
  • Voluntary statewide.

OHIO OH
  • Voluntary state-wide.
  • Certificate  is permanent

OKLAHOMA OK
  • Voluntary at the state level. See your local jurisdiction for more details.
  • Certification -- Every 3 (three) yrs

OREGON
  • Certification  -- Every 3 (three) years

PENNSYLVANIA PA
  • Certification -- Every 5 (five) years. Recertification is based on the completion of a training course (no exam IS required).
  • Effective July , 2004, food establishments must have at least 1 certified supervisory employee per establishment.
  • The certified manager does not need to be present during all hours of business.

RHODE ISLAND RI
There are no present requirements in RI for this industry.

SOUTH CAROLINA
  • Voluntary state-wide.

BACK TO TOP

SOUTH DAKOTA SD
  • Certification - Every 4 (four) years
  • Mandatory fmanager certification.

TENNESSEE TN
  • Voluntary statewide.
  • Certification  -- Every 5 (five) years

TEXAS TX
  • As per the Texas Food Establisment Rules §229.163, the person in charge shall demonstrate  safety knowledge by being a certified  managaer who has shown profiency of required information through passing a test that is part of an accreditated program.
  • Certificate is valid for 5 years.

  • (also en Espanol)


UTAH UT
  • Each establishment must be managed by at least one full-time certified food safety manager.
  • Certificate  -- Every 3 years

VIRGINIA VI
No state requirements. Contact your local jurisdiction for more information.

WEST VIRGINIA WV
  • Certificate  -- Every 5 (five) years
  • Voluntary at the state level. Local health departments may mandate certification.
  • The West Virginia Code requires that a person in charge be present during all hours of operation.
  • Passing a  manager certific exam is one way to meet the demonstration of knowledge requirement. ('99 FDA Food Code)
  • The person in charge at a restaurant must be able to demonstrate knowledge of foodborne disease prevention and HACCP.

WISCONSIN WI
  • Certif - Every 5 (five) years - must take a state-approved recertification course.
  • Each establishment must have at least 1 certified service manager who has passed an approved exam.

WYOMING WY
  • Certificate - Every 5 (five) years
  • Each establishment permittee must obtain a Foodhandler license.

WASHINGTON WA
  • Certificate - Initial cards are valid for 2 (two) yrs. Renewal cards are valid for 3 (three) yrs.
  • A food worker who has obtained additional training within the past two (2)years may apply for a 5 (five) year  card.
  • All food service workers must obtain a card within 14 calendar days (2 weeks) from the beginning of your employment at a service establishment.
  • A “’Food service worker’ means an individual who works ( with or without pay) in an establishment and handles unwrapped or unpackaged food or who may contribute to the transmission of infectious diseases through the nature of his or her contact with food products and/or equipment and facilities.”

BACK TO TOP


Related Sites


Click here to add text.
Food Safety and Food Handlers State Requirements
Food Safety and Food Handlers State Requirements - Washington, California, Utah, Arizona
COMPLETION CERTIFICATE
PRINTABLE ONLINE



  Need Help? 
Call:
877-250-4435
Online Classroom